Sisters Day

The first Sunday of August is Sisters Day…and as it happens, I have one of those.

166454_1728244362889_492043_n
Bec & I, 1997(?)

After seeing this holiday listed on GeneabloggersTRIBE, I thought this was a great opportunity to reflect on some recent history!

Bec, like most sisters we’ve had our ups and downs, but at the end of the day I’ve always got your back. And I know you have mine. Here’s to scandalising the parents with the nicknames we have for each other (I will not repeat them here), annoying each other to the point of tears and being mistaken for twins more often than not, despite being four years apart!

19247821_1665724113492414_2135978863528046055_n

You were my first photography subject, often against your will…I recall an incident involving making you climb the tree out the front of our house so I could get a good shot…you were far from impressed and may or may not have become stuck. My bad.

…you always get your own back though. Let it be known that my sister is no pushover, by any stretch of the imagination. It’s all fun and games until you push her too far…don’t let her size and seemingly easygoing nature fool you. I once annoyed her so much that she kicked me in the face and bent my glasses out of shape.

It’s not all shenanigans with us though, we have a very similar love for music and she has a gift for making me laugh. I am so grateful to have you as my sister. Bec, thank you for being you.

131729_1728243642871_5700954_o

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. beryl peace says:

    On Sun, 6 Aug 2017 at 10:19 PM, Diary of a Young Genealogist wrote:

    > > > > I loved this post Em sisters are special with all their warts and all.

    Love nan. > > > > > > > > > > > > > > Diary of A Young Genealogist posted: “The first Sunday of August is > Sisters Day…and as it happens, I am in possession of one of those. > > > > After seeing this holiday listed on GeneabloggersTRIBE, I thought this was > a great opportunity to reflect on some recent history! > > Bec, like most sisters” > > > > > > > > > >

    Like

Leave a Reply

